RSS

No Trespassing

14 Feb

Image

A couple of years ago I was in West Virginia doing a concert at a homeless shelter, and there was a young guy there about 21 years old I think, we’ll call him Marshall. After the concert we were just hanging out, visiting with people, and Marshall starts telling us about a dream that he’s been having. He said he has had the same dream every night for the past few months and he doesn’t know why.

In the dream I’m always sitting in my living room, and I’m not doing anything, but this guy (I think it’s Jesus) is walking around the outside of the house. And he keeps looking into the windows but never coming inside. I keep waiting for him to come in but he just keeps looking in the windows.

Now, I’m no prophet or interpreter or anything, but the meaning of this particular dream seemed so clear to me, I had to say something.

Not that you asked for my opinion, but I think God is just waiting for you to invite Him in.

I think about Marshall and his dream from time to time because I think it has some great reminders in it. Here are just a few:

  1. God is a gentleman. He will not force His way into our lives. If He forced us to love Him it wouldn’t really be love, it would be coercion.

  2. God is not a watchdog. Sometimes we treat God as if He’s merely there for our protection. You stay outside and protect me from bad things, we say, but don’t come in here, I don’t want you messing up my house.

  3. The Safe Zone is not the Satisfying Zone. Sure it seems like the best of both worlds to have God on the parameter, in case we need Him, while we get to have our own personal space. But just like Marshall, if God is not on the inside, we aren’t really doing anything. Things might seem to be going really well and you might just be minding your own business, being a “good” person, but if God is not allowed into our lives…into every crevice of our being, nothing we do is going to fully satisfy, so we might as well be sitting doing nothing.

I could keep going, and talk about how God isn’t interested in a lukewarm relationship with us, or how we tend to think we should clean up our house before we invite Him in to stay, but I’ll save that for another post.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “No Trespassing

  1. meggoallen

    February 15, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    Love this!

     
  2. Jessica McCranie

    February 16, 2014 at 1:12 am

    Love this post! Especially the part about God not being a watchdog! How true that is, and it really rings true with how I have treated him a lot in my life. He may have been a well loved watch dog, even invited into the house a few times, but mostly, an outside dog! Ugh! So painful to admit!

     
    • ohgretch

      February 16, 2014 at 3:48 am

      I think we’ve all treated Him this way at one point or another. Thank you for sharing Jessica.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 779 other followers

