RSS

Midnight stroll

09 Feb

It’s after midnight and I just got back from the quietest, most invigorating walk I think I’ve ever been on.
I pulled my car into the garage after being over at a friend’s house and decided that, instead of heading in for the night, I was going to go on a walk. So I did, and it was awesome. It’s getting colder by the second out there, but when I started it was actually quite nice.

As I walked I just tried to take in everything around me. Not just the physical setting, but also the mental setting of this time in my life. I just turned 25! I wasn’t supposed to live to be 12 for cryin’ out loud! And I’m here, I’m alive! I’ve moved across the country to a place I don’t know, to a job that pays nothing, with no certainty of any future path. Yet, I think this is a magnificent place to be. There’s only one thing I can do…trust the Lord. Lay down all my fear and anxious uncertainty, and rest in the freedom of HIs sovereignty.

Sorry I didn’t have a camera by my side this time; the walk was entirely spur of the moment.
Maybe next time.

Good Night for now!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Midnight stroll

  1. Tj & Mark

    February 10, 2008 at 3:50 am

    Way to go!!!

     
  2. mcmuffie

    February 10, 2008 at 4:52 am

    Grace, grace and more grace. God is so good. Cherish these moments, Gretch, Time certainly does fly by. And no, btw, I don’t feel any younger around all the college kids. I feel more like their grandmother!

     
  3. Tj & Mark

    February 10, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    I was moved by your post when I read it last night. Sooo good to relish the times of companionship with our creator and savior, and to recognize them as a gift!
    This morning’s verse seems appropriate, also: “…and where the spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.” 2 cor. 3:17 mark

     
  4. Anonymous

    February 11, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    i am glad you are alive! love LIndsey

     

Leave a Reply

 
