RSS

To Heal or not to Heal Part II

25 May

Here’s another thing I struggle with (and I think a lot of people have at one time or another). Why is it that in “under-developed countries we will see/hear of many miraculous healings, yet in this country they are few and far between?

I hope this does not offend anyone…I’m simply throwing ideas out there; trying to figure things out; spur conversation, but…
In the New Testament, Jesus came and healed and delivered and raised from the dead, to meet a need yes….but also to show people who He was/is! Everyone knew that these acts could only come from the power of God. No one is going to believe a guy walking around claiming to be the son of God but not doing anything. What if his main purpose was to prove his identity? Even the Pharisees knew that kind of power only came from God…they just weren’t willing to admit it.

So where am I going with this? Well…what if the Lord is doing the same thing in these other countries? I mean, a lot of these countries have never heard of Jesus or a creator God…they need that proof that their “unknown god” they’ve worshiped all their life is really Creator of the Universe, and Jesus is His son; He is a loving God; a powerful God…powerful enough to heal.

And what about us? We’re here in the US and we have heard who Jesus is over and over again; we’ve seen Him move in our lives; we have had the honor of hearing his Word (most of us)…do we need more proof?

Sometimes I ask for healing in my own life because it would be a much easier life if I were not bound by disease…that’s not a good reason.

Ok…last thought I’m going to share:
What about verses like Matthew 6:10 that says, “…Your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven”? In heaven there’s no disease right? No suffering? No hardship? Therefore…this is what I’m starting to think:
That verse cannot mean, “make our life on earth like it will be in heaven”. Otherwise this would become heaven and we all know that heaven is our home but earth is not. So the point here, I think, is not to ask that earth become like heaven…but for whatever the Lord has laid out (whatever He has willed) in heaven be carried out in our lives on earth.
Do you see the difference? On other words, “God, whatever you have had laid out since the foundations of the earth…let it be so here. You’re will be done…not mine”.

I know this was an extremely long blog today, so I’m going to stop there. I commend anyone who made it to this point. And I want to invite you all to comment on here or email me with your objections or for further conversation.

Until next time…
May your moments bring Him glory!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “To Heal or not to Heal Part II

  1. Tj & Mark

    June 1, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Yes, I do see the difference. Perhaps the road we each walk is necessary in God’s plan, perhaps it is made more difficult by events and actions in our lives or those around us… Still the REAL power lies in the loving hands of our creator. I think of the 144,000 on mount Zion in rev. 14 who are the only ones capable of learning the new song. There will be great worship! Yet the finest will come from those whose trials have refined their relationship with the father most perfectly. Makes me wonder why I care about anything else. I’m not eally sure what I believe about this topic as a whole, but I’m grateful for the discussion. See you soon? mark

     
  2. Tj & Mark

    June 2, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Gretchen, I personally think that you are on the right track. Your ‘take’ on those scriptures is very similar to mine, whatever that is worth. Thanks for taking on this subject and generating thought in this old brain of mine.

     

Leave a Reply

 
