RSS

Journal Excerpt

20 Jan

 

I’ve been struggling with a few things this past week. Feeling really weak in my faith. LIke I should be stronger; more mature; more faithful. 12-12-08-020This morning I was reading in Romans and a couple verses really spoke to me; bringing peace. The first section is 3-5. It says this: More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

That is so wonderful. How freeing to remember that there will be sufferings in this life. I’m not failing just because I’m suffering. This is expected. Moreover…there is a purpose; it’s not just random. While there are probably a million different reasons for this, if it were only to produce endurance, character and hope, that would be enough. And the Lord is with me. I am not going to be left out here to drown. God’s love is poured out over me. That is all I need. My sin will not lead to death anymore. Praise Jesus!

And it hit me: it’s like what I sing about every day! Sometimes…I fall, sometimes I lose my way, but when I fall I fall into grace. How true that is. Crazy how something that’s right in front of my face every single day can go unnoticed until the exact moment it’s needed to be brought to light. It’s funny because I talk about this very thing before we sing this song (or Carrie talks about it) but today it’s doing the work in me that I hope it does in the people who come to our concerts.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 20, 2009 in Just thinking

 

One response to “Journal Excerpt

  1. tj

    January 20, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    You have no idea how deeply I needed this. Thanks. I love your statement of falling into grace for I too have sinned and fall so short of the glory of God.

     

Leave a Reply

 
