RSS

“Follow Me”

10 Oct

GuatemalaLast night I was praying for my friends (and for myself) who are considering doing a year with CTI , and I want to share a portion of that prayer here with you because I think it transcends CTI and applies to anything the Lord may be calling us to do in this life. Luckily I pray best when I write it out…so I’m just going to copy directly from my journal onto this blog. I hope you get something out of it 🙂

It’s so hard because Fulltime CTI demands that we place our life on hold for an entire year, with the risk that nothing will be the same when we return…but isn’t that what you asked of your disciples? to leave everything behind and follow you? when I look at it in that light, seems like the MOST logical thing to do would be to go.

I love that image. I can just see them, grown men, dropping whatever was in their hands; disregarding any plan for this day or the next, and following You, simply because you said “Come”.

Should we look behind us and weigh whether what we have is better than what You offer? Seems absurd. Everything we have  (if we saw it for what it really was) would look like garbage compared to what you call us to.

Still I realize when you call people it always looks different, and you certainly don’t call everyone to the same thing…but for those you are calling to do Fulltime, would you open their eyes to see it as the most beautiful opportunity they could be given. and would you give them courage to step out through their fear. and would you show them your faithful provision.

“What is more I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things, I consider them rubbish that I may gain Christ” (Philippians 3:8).

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 10, 2009 in Just thinking

 

One response to ““Follow Me”

  1. Spiff

    January 9, 2010 at 5:23 am

    Thank you for sharing this, Gretchen. You have a beautiful heart. The Lord brought me to this at just the time I needed it. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
