RSS

Dying to Live

06 Mar

I think I’ve always known I was making this choice, but I’ve never actually been specifically confronted with it.

I went to the clinic today at the University, and I knew it wasn’t going to be the best check up appointment I’ve ever had, because I haven’t been feeling that great…but it certainly turned out differently than I had anticipated. As we were looking at my lung function (which, by the way, isn’t the highest it’s ever been…by a long shot…but it isn’t dropping, it’s kinda just sitting there) the doctor stopped, put down whatever he was looking at and said very seriously, “Just so I have this right in my head, you do understand that the life you’re choosing is probably costing you your health?”

I was almost surprised at what came out of my mouth, it’s like I didn’t even think about it, it was just there and I said it without hesitation (though I did get a little teary-eyed I’m not gonna lie). “Yes, I understand that. I know what the consequences are. I just love my life. I LOVE what I’m doing and I don’t want anything else”.

The response to that I very much appreciated, he said, “Alright then, you know many people go through their entire life, never being passionate about anything…I guess it’s hard to put a price tag on something like that…”

Now, I don’t want anyone to freak out over this. I’m not dying or anything (I mean, I am but…we all are dying) I’m just not up to the bar where “normal” CF-patients are at my age. But what’s new right? When have I ever done anything that was normal? Haha.

Test me in this…and see if I will not…pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it” (Mal. 3:10)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2010 in "Debriefings", Updates on The Gretch

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Dying to Live

  1. Lindsey Gent

    March 6, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    I’m choked up reading this! Gretch, I know you always wanted to live with NO REGRETS, and you’re doing it. You’ve stepped out in faith and the LORD goes before you. Nothing that comes at us is ever a surprise to Him; let us rest in that. i love you, dear friend.

     
  2. Tj

    March 6, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Lindsey said it best. Love ya.

     
  3. Kristyl Gilson

    March 11, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Gretchen,
    You never cease to amaze me. You are what symbolizes God’s love to me. My life and all those around us have had their spirit enhanced by being around you. You are one of those angels who walks among us. May God keep on blessing you and all those who know you. Thanks again for the inspiration that you are. Love ya

     
  4. Jackita Viss

    June 3, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    How many people would trade a long life without passion and full of regret for a shorter one filled with passion and purpose? “For whoever wishes to save his life shall lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake shall find it.” You are living it every day!

     

Leave a Reply

 
