RSS

I’ll tell you what I DO know.

12 Sep

Last time I posted something I was sharing how I had no idea of what I’m doing next in my life. I have a lot of ambitions; a lot of big goals/dreams…but I’m not sure which of them I’m supposed to pursue.

Two months later…I’m still in pretty much the same place. I made it out of MN in one piece, (though the travel plans changed about 10 times) and safely to my mom’s house in MT, but now I’m in this sort of limbo. I’ve never lived with my family in MT (they moved while I was away with CTI) and I can’t afford to live in CA anymore (which stinks because I love CA) so I still feel a bit like I’m living with a host family. My stuff is still mostly packed in boxes and suitcases, and I am switching back and forth between rooms, depending on which sisters are home from school. I certainly don’t feel settled yet, but I’m hoping that will change soon. I’m working on it!

I’ll tell you what I DO know though:

  • I know the Lord has given me this time to rest and reflect on all that He has done in me the past several years.
  • I know He’s calling me to wait on Him and trust in HIS timing; not the world’s timing, or my own timing.
  • I know that, even though I’m “doing nothing” (so it feels) He is continuing to teach me more about His character, and showing me more of who I’m meant to be in Him.
  • I also know that, while I don’t know what I’m going to do for a “career,” I need to get a job for the time being. And while I do that…I think I’m supposed to start writing.

Now, this writing thing, it really scares me, because I’ve been feeling like that’s something God may be asking me to do, but I have no idea what to say. I don’t know what I’m writing for, or what length. So, at the counsel of one of my dear friends, Miss Margaret, back in Willmar, I decided to start small and see what God does with my tiny step of faith.

My thinking is to just start by sharing my story in a short article; sharing how God has moved in my life, in and through me having Cystic Fibrosis….

And that’s as far as I’ve gotten. I have no idea what I’m supposed to do once I’ve finished writing it, but I’m trying not to worry about that just yet.
So that’s what’s going on in the life of The Gretch, but I also wanted to take this opportunity to give one last thank you for all my supporters who have given of their time, prayer and finances in order to support the past season of my life.

To all of you: THANK YOU!
For those of you who were planning on giving this year but have not yet, there is still a need for you. I do still have about $1,000 to finish up my fundraising with CTI (which is incredible I think, to only have that much left, considering in the past 7 years I have had to raise a total of  $32,000! The Lord is so faithful!). If you are a monthly supporter, know that I am officially finished with CTI and that you can cancel your monthly support checks if you have not already.
Thank you. Thank you. THANK YOU!

I have said this many times before, but I wish I could articulate to you just how much you have blessed my life simply because of your willingness to give.

I will try to keep everyone posted on my life as I know more.If you would like to know specific ways that you could be praying for me, here are a few:

 

  • My health. The rest I’m getting is good, but I’m certainly not where I should be. My health took a huge loss from all the traveling and such the past few years.
  • A place to live. I decided to look at Spokane Valley, WA. I’m really excited about this because I like the area and I know some people there. Bonus: It’s close enough to see my mom/sisters in a short drive.
  • The fire in my heart. I don’t want my passions to fade just because I’m not living the life I’ve become accustomed to living. I want to seek out new opportunities to serve and grow in the Lord. And I REALLY want to continue doing music!

Well, that is all for now.
Until next time…
G.

*If you would like to make a final donation to my CTI account you can do so by clicking here: ctimusic.org. Or sending a check with my name in the memo to PO Box 100, Willmar, MN 56201.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “I’ll tell you what I DO know.

  1. Lindsey

    September 12, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Love and miss you, dear friend! I’m praying for your health and for direction…hmm…sounds like He’s already working on those! Was reading this today and “meditating” on it: “Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers. But his DELIGHT is in the law of the Lord, and on His law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither (!). Whatever he does prospers.” Psalm 1:1-3. Amen! Looking forward to your book 😉

     
  2. Lorraine Lam

    September 13, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    so encouraged by you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
