RSS

Summer in Iowa

15 Jun

It’s funny how the Lord works sometimes. We’re just going along a path, in the direction we think we ought to and then BAM! He totally turns things around and pushes us in a direction we never even knew existed.

That’s pretty much what happened to me this summer. I was simply minding my own business at Starbucks, working my little heart out, (and enjoying it a lot for that matter) wondering what the Lord had in store for me in the coming year. Next thing I knew I was quitting a great job, letting go of all my “security,” and heading to northern Iowa to work at a camp. WHAT THE HECK?!

I really had no idea what I was doing, and I still have no clue what I’ve gotten myself into, but I’m certain this is where I’m called to be. It’s been so encouraging to me to be using my gifts like this again, even though it’s in very different capacities than I’m used to. Here are my 3 main jobs this summer:

Mentoring: I get to live in a house with 11 other young ladies as we serve together in various capacities. Since I am the oldest in the house (by several years), there is a natural opportunity for me to be an encouragement and hopefully an example of what it looks like to be a woman passionately chasing after God.

Publications: I have the pleasure of editing (and partially authoring) the daily devotional booklets which will be sent home with campers at the end of their session. In addition I have been given the responsibility of photographer and producing the camp newsletter. Fun stuff!

Music: Providing worship sessions for camps, staff, team members, family reunions, and Sunday services. This has been both challenging and most exciting for me. I love being involved with music again, and I have been completely blessed to see how it has opened the doors for vulnerability, restoration, and unity among everyone who hears.

So what’s next?
You might be wondering what I’m going to do AFTER summer is over. Don’t worry, you are not alone in that wondering…I’m asking myself the same thing. I’ve been praying that the Lord would use these next couple months to steer my heart in the direction that’s most pleasing to Him. We’ll see what happens 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Summer in Iowa

  1. Lindsey Gent

    June 17, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    Gretch! It sounds like everything you’re gifted in! Praise God who so obviously worked out this position for you 🙂 Love you!

     
    • ohgretch

      June 20, 2012 at 2:55 pm

      Thanks Linds!

       
  2. Norma

    August 17, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    So glad you came to IA. You enriched my life. Prayers will follow you to next destination. Norma

     

Leave a Reply

 
